Keep Writing.

February 4, 2016 § 2 Comments

I have journalled for most of my life. I can remember as a girl, writing dreams for my life that involved being a writer and having lots of children (!).

As a teenager I wrote copious amounts of emotional outpourings about friendships and lovers and family tensions.

As a twenty-something I took on The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron, purging my mind every morning, and then journalled the pregnancies and births of two children.

In my thirties…well, journalling became more intermittent; for crises or massive moments only. As my family grew and time demands intensified, journalling evolved into more of a luxury than a necessity.

I have written before about the body and the messages it can send to us through imbalance or illness. It is this exact scenario that led me to realise, just today, that I have not journalled for months, nor written this blog or indeed, much of anything. A niggling pain pointed me to the realisation that somewhere along the way in the last little while, I stopped expressing myself.

I intended to visit this blog today to let it be known that I was going through some deep stuff, too deep to share, too deep for me to be comfortable being visible in any way. I intended to publicly give myself permission not to write.

Instead I find myself re-committing to my writing practice, no matter how uncomfortable it may be. See, I do not feel myself unless I write. 

It is true that I am feeling much inner turbulence in recent months. I look at many aspects of this world and think to myself: this is insane. And I do not know how to exist within this insanity I see.

All I can do is write. And keep writing.

§ 2 Responses to Keep Writing.

  • Art says:

    “I do not feel myself unless I write.” perfectly articulated what it means to me too… hope you continue to write (publicly or privately) to help you through your current challenges. x

  • Melissa says:

    I hope this challenging time passes soon. You will be in my thoughts.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Keep Writing. at kirrileeheartman.

meta

