Crafting a SacRed YONI!

March 16, 2015 § 2 Comments

2014-05-15 08.20.39

clitbits

IMG_0390

IMG_0806

IMG_0820

IMG_1003

IMG_1031

IMG_1064

IMG_1072 - Copy

IMG_1080In my burgeoning professional life, I wear many hats. I run a Playgroup, craft groups both for children and women, make and sell items for women and children, and blog for http://www.mothering.com as well as for this humble personal blog.

An increasingly large part of my role as Craft Teacher for women has been the project depicted above: Crafting a SacRed YONI! Yes, Yoni refers to the vagina. Yes, this project is about crafting a vagina art piece to hang on one’s wall at home.

Really, this project is the perfect fusion of my crafting skills and passion for women’s mysteries and empowerment. It began as one humble Yoni fibre art piece, made for a dear friend for her Harvest Ceremony. I don’t really know why I chose the Yoni, it just seemed relevant for this Wise Woman and mentor in the realm of women’s cycles. Of course she loved it and soon another wonderful woman asked me to make on for her.

And so something began.

Like all good ideas, the idea to make this art piece into a workshop was one that simply floated into my consciousness one day. I needed a co-facilitator, and Yia, for whom I made that original piece, excitedly stepped into the role. We have been fastidiously gathering all the elements needed to make the Yonis unique and creative. Pictured above are some of the results of the trial run we did for this workshop at a Red Tent event last week.

Now we are ten days out from the Seven Sisters Festival, held in Melbourne, Australia, where the workshop Crafting a SacRed YONI will be experienced by up to one hundred women. To say I am nervous is rather an understatement. I know I will rise to the occasion and that the workshops will be a success – the nervousness has many levels, from leaving my children for four days, worrying about how they will manage without me, to wondering how I will manage by myself, in a totally new setting and experience. I am sure there will be lots to write about when I return!

 

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Crafting a SacRed YONI!

  • Arttemiss says:

    Just gorgeous! What a fabulous combination for your passions and skills indeed. I do love how the ones in the hoops look like dreamcatchers too – dream catching yonis – YAY!!!

  • Alexandra says:

    bloody great, Kirrilee!!! I am thrilled that you are stepping in such a big arena with your beautiful. Do share images of it with us all – I know you will! And also with http://cherishthecunt.com/ O know Colette would love to hear what you are doing!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Crafting a SacRed YONI! at kirrileeheartman.

meta

