Being In Water

March 11, 2014 § Leave a comment

Yesterday I suddenly decided I HAD to swim in the ocean. It’s been a while for me. I was feeling wound up, and water is the best way to wind me down again. We chucked some towels in the car and four kids joined me on my impromptu excursion. At the beach I was so desperate to swim that I almost ditched the children and ran ahead on my own into that alive, moving mass of water. 

Freshwater Beach yesterday afternoon.

Freshwater Beach yesterday afternoon.

When I enter the ocean, I enter a new realm within myself. I drop my load: I give it to the ocean that supports my body in it’s soft, watery embrace. I begin to move in time to the subtle deep pull of the tide, and the swash of the waves. I look out to the horizon, into sky and space. I dissolve. I AM.

And I emerge from the ocean complete again: in touch with the part of me that is innately connected to water and tide and moon.

Our family does many activities around water. It is guaranteed to give a good time. The pool is great: easy, close, and mostly the children’s preference. But living water is my preference: the calm and mysterious depths of the river, and the fun, lively wash of the waves.

Below is a selection of my favourite water spots:

Fun at the pool.

Fun at the pool.

Bellinger River.

Bellinger River.

 

Jellybean Pools, Blue Mountains.

Jellybean Pools, Blue Mountains.

jellymar13 475

Palm Beach.

Palm Beach.

Pittwater.

Pittwater.

Mackarel Beach.

Mackarel Beach.

IMG_0370

Ocean Beach, Umina.

Ocean Beach, Umina.

Ocean Beach.

Ocean Beach.

Reef Beach.

Reef Beach.

 

Pearl Beach at Twilight.

Pearl Beach at Twilight.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Being In Water at kirrileeheartman.

meta

