Late Summer Daze

February 20, 2014 § 1 Comment

Here in Sydney we are experiencing some late summer days….humid weather, sometimes cool evenings, and occasional downpour of rain as well. The carefree summer is well and truly past, and it is time to knuckle down for the year.

Some of us here in the Heartman household are still adjusting to the school routine, even though it is almost the end of week three. I confess I am struggling too….not having changed my bedtime yet to accommodate earlier rising, and still learning to manage the ‘routine’.

I am currently completing my last issue as Editor of Birthings, the Sydney homebirth magazine. To help myself through the fiddly editing parts, I snuck off the the local shopping centre for some dumplings and iced tea. There is something oddly comforting about sitting in a bustling foodcourt, busy in a world of homebirthing.

2014-02-14 13.35.23

 

Late summer is a bit of a transition time for me, partly due to the weather changing just that little bit, but also because it is my birthday soon. I don’t do New Years’ resolutions, or even celebrate the turning of the calendar to a new year. Instead my birthday year is the cycle I live by, letting go of things in the run up, and making plans to create new things in the month after, and I’ve got so many plans for this next year!

One project I have already begun is a women’s craft group. Our first meeting was Valentine’s Day, and I chose this project from the Living Crafts blog in honor.

2014-02-15 12.52.07

 

Only a few more days to finish the magazine, ready to begin new things. I can’t wait to share them with you all!

Tagged: , , , ,

§ One Response to Late Summer Daze

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Late Summer Daze at kirrileeheartman.

meta

