The Making Of….

November 30, 2013 § Leave a comment

I’ve been quiet on this blog of late. Not intentionally: things have been busy.

I’ve been putting together the latest issue of Birthings magazine, of which I am Editor. At the same time I have been applying for jobs and endeavoring to turn my passion for handmade crafty items into something more professional.

Juggling all of this has prompted some soul searching and clarifying of priorities.

As much as I love crafting, I am not sure that it can bring in the regular income I desire (and need). But, in the short term, I can at least spread some of my crafty joy through selling what I can at the upcoming Lorien Novalis Market Day. And I will be running some craft workshops for children in the week before Christmas, a chance to spend a whole morning sewing and hanging out with some great kids. I always get so nervous about running workshops, but they give me such a high!

As much as I love editing, weaving elements together that create a magazine which covers the spectrum of the (home)birth experience, I am not sure that I can continue in this volunteer role for the long term. As this year begins to wind down, I am refining my goals and priorities, knowing it is what I do every day, every hour, that is sowing the seeds for my future.

Then there is writing, and this blog. I am still finding my voice here, but blogging has become something I can’t not do anymore. Writing remains, or has been reinstated, to the most important activity of all.

In this past week, a few creative items have been my work:

water colour painted thank you cards for Lily's teachers.

water colour painted thank you cards for Lily’s teachers.

IMG_1773

 

The bare bones of a hobby horse: one for the market, and one for my little nephew for Christmas.

The bare bones of a hobby horse: one for the market, and one for my little nephew for Christmas.

A Tree of Life felt picture, bound for the market and hopefully someone's wall.

A Tree of Life felt picture, bound for the market and hopefully someone’s wall.

And this little sweetheart, needing a full head of hair before making her way to Lily on Christmas morning.

And this little sweetheart, needing a full head of hair before making her way to Lily on Christmas morning.

I really should begin my crafty Christmas gifts earlier…. however I am still optimistic that I will get everything done in time!

 

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Making Of…. at kirrileeheartman.

meta

