Flower/Vagina

June 29, 2013 § Leave a comment

 

 

 

I have been extremely excited to have my felt piece Flower/Vagina included in the exhibition ‘101 Vaginas’ (in conjunction with the Sydney Fringe Festival).

This is the third Flower/Vagina I have made, but they are all original pieces with different colours, designs and styles – much like the way every vagina is individual!

This piece is inspired by Judy Chicago’s The Dinner Party, where ceramic plates/vaginas represent different women from history. Each vagina plate is different in style, representing the time, cultural context or personality of the woman depicted.

Flower/Vagina represents me.

My preferred medium is felt. I use 100% wool felt that I hand dye myself. Wool felt is a product that brings life force from the animal from which it came. When things are close to their original forms in nature there is a truth to them, and a beauty.

Our vaginas pulse with life force and are the seat of our femininity, our womanhood. They are powerful. I envisage my vagina to be healthy and juicy like a flower.

 

IMG_0089

 

IMG_0090

 

IMG_0094

 

IMG_0194

 

IMG_0192

 

IMG_0191

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Flower/Vagina at kirrileeheartman.

meta

