2012 – A Creative Retrospective

December 30, 2012 § 1 Comment

Lots of dyed felt

Lots of dyed felt

Limbed Doll

Limbed Doll

Sik Rainbow Cape

Sik Rainbow Cape

Winter Gnome

Winter Gnome

Little People

Little People

Red Dragon (not my original pattern though).

Red Dragon (not my original pattern though).

Clothed Doll for Zara

Clothed Doll for Zara

home made wands for toddlers.

home made wands for toddlers.

Lots of Crowns

Lots of Crowns

Christmas Hearts

Christmas Hearts

Some of these projects, like the dolls, were begun in 2011 but finished this year. Dolls are a long term project for me. I think I did ok considering I had a baby this year and was in hospital on and off for six weeks with him.

It was not possible to sew or do anything except read whilst in hospital. His illness was such that initially I was too distressed and sleep deprived to do anything but cry. Then it took literally all day to take care of Robin – changing a nappy took up to ten minutes, in tiny, smooth movements. The slightest jerk would set off a coughing fit, so Robin was literally handled like a precious glass egg.

I still have things to debrief about in regards to that time – every post seems to end up in that place! I read something this morning that has stayed with me: that the best remedy for overwhelming or overflowing emotions is art…. to create. I swear it was a message just for me.

So my artistic goal for next year: to just keep going.

§ One Response to 2012 – A Creative Retrospective

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading 2012 – A Creative Retrospective at kirrileeheartman.

meta

