My new favourite Dessert

June 23, 2014 § 2 Comments

I don’t often post cooking blogs – there are plenty of bloggers and people out there who are much better at food than I.

And my relationship with cooking is a little rocky – having to cook for so many people every day sometimes leads to inspiration burnout. At those times I tend to fall back on Jamie’s Fifteen Minute Meals, or the ‘classic Kirrilee’ recipes I have held on to since my early twenties.

This year I have been reading the I Quit Sugar books by Sarah Wilson, and the paleo inspired recipes of Pete Evans, along with the allergy friendly baking recipes of Jude Blureau. The following recipe has fast become a favourite of mine – taking elements from all those mentioned above, with a couple of touches of my own thrown in. Strictly speaking it is not sugar free, but the sugar is very minimal. I find the fatty acids and protein from the quinoa, chia and coconut keep me really satisfied.

I have been seen eating it for breakfast on the run, and while watching Game of Thrones: a most enjoyable pairing.

Quinoa and Chia seed Pudding with Maple Custard

(this recipe make enough for a few puddings)

2014-06-08 11.49.04

Quinoa and Chia Seed Pudding

1/3 cup cooked quinoa

3T chia seeds

3 teaspoons cocoa powder ( I use an excellent quality raw cocoa)

300 mls  milk ( I use half coconut milk, half soy or almond or oat milk)

Mix everything together in a bowl and let set in fridge for two hours.

Maple Custard

3T cornflour

1 1/2 T maple syrup

1t vanilla extract

1 1/2 cups milk (I use soy, oat or almond)

65 mls coconut milk

Mix cornflour, syrup and vanilla over a low heat. Increase heat and add milk, stirring constantly until it thickens.

Remove from heat and leave to cool in a bowl.

When cool, blend with coconut milk, adding more maple syrup if desired, to taste.

Together:

Layer the quinoa/chia seed pudding with some custard. I add strawberries and a sprinkling of cacao nibs on top.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to My new favourite Dessert

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My new favourite Dessert at kirrileeheartman.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 267 other followers

